Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Furman Wins Fourth-Straight Southern Conference Cross Country Titles

Furman Wins Fourth-Straight Southern Conference Cross Country Titles

CHATTANOOGA, TENN. -- The Furman men's and women's cross country teams swept the team titles for the fourth consecutive year Saturday at the 2016 Southern Conference Cross Country Championships at Camp Jordan in Chattanooga, Tenn. 

In the opening race of the day, the Furman men scored 22 points for the victory, claiming six of the top 10 spots to beat out second-place Samford, who scored 51 points.  East Tennessee State placed third, followed by Chattanooga and VMI, who completed the top five.

Paladin junior Frank Lara was honored as the SoCon Men's Runner of the Year after winning the men's individual title.  Lara posted a time of 23:16.44 on the 8K course and was joined on the All-SoCon first team by junior Josh Brickell, who turned in a second-place finish at 23:25.34 and was honored with the league's Pinnacle Award, a new award which is being given this athletic year to the student athlete with the highest GPA on the winning team at each SoCon championship.  

Rookie Ryan Adams garnered SoCon Freshman of the Year honors and claimed All-SoCon first team accolades after placing fourth with a time of 24:08.49.  Freshman Mason Coppi finished sixth with a time of 24:13.53, and senior Matt Lange completed the Paladin slate of scorers in ninth place at 24:25.88.  For their efforts, Coppi was named to the All-SoCon first team, and Lange earned a spot on the All-SoCon second team.  

Freshman Jake Ogden and junior Quintin McKinnish were also named to the All-SoCon second team.  Ogden turned in a time of 24:32.38 to place tenth, while McKinnish was 14th 24:39.65.  Freshman Patrick McNamara finished 24th with a time of 25:05.60, and junior Lee Shearer was 28th at 26:12.22.

Adams, Coppi, and Ogden represented the Paladins on the SoCon All-Freshman team.

Furman placed three runners among the top five and all five scorers in the top eight for the victory in the women's 5K.  The Paladins scored 24 points, defeating Samford by 23 points.   East Tennessee State, Chattanooga, and UNCG Greensboro rounded out the top five women's teams.

Paladin rookie Savannah Carnahan claimed SoCon Freshman of the Year accolades and was honored as a member of the All-SoCon first team and the SoCon All-Freshman team after leading the Paladins with a second-place finish and a time of 16:24.72 on the 5K course.  

Freshman Emma Grace Hurley crossed the line in 16:55.36 for third place, while fellow freshman Gabrielle Jennings was fifth at 17:02.42.  Senior Laura Miller posted a time of 17:07.87 for sixth place, and freshman Riley Burr completed the Paladin scorers with an eighth-place finish at 17:30.18.  Rookie Grace Dwyer placed ninth with a time of 17:37.50.  For their efforts, Hurley, Jennings, and Miller claimed All-SoCon first team accolades, and Burr and Dwyer were named to the All-SoCon second team.

Freshman Jennifer Stephenson and senior Julia Rodriguez were also honored with an All-SoCon second team citation, and Rodriguez was honored with the SoCon Pinnacle Award.  Stephenson placed tenth with a time of 17:39.27, and Rodriguez was 13th at 17:49.02.  Senior Maddie Wolfe posted a time of 18:33.12 for 28th place.

The Paladins claimed six of seven spots on the SoCon All-Freshman team, as Hurley, Jennings, Burr, Dwyer, and Stephenson joined Carnahan on the team.

"It was a very exciting Saturday for the program," said Furman head coach Robert Gary, who was honored as the Southern Conference Coach of the Year for both the men's and women's programs.  "We played our video from 2013 when we won our first titles, and everyone seemed focus to keep our streak going.  Now we have one goal accomplished, and our second, advancement to the NCAA Championships, coming up in 13 days.

"Frank and Josh executed patient race plans towards a 1-2 finish, and Savanah ran a very courageous race leading until 300m to go," added Gary.  "We had several members on the All-Freshman team, and the fact that we are returning some great redshirts has us very excited for future.  For the immediate future however, we are looking ahead to 13 days of prep towards NCAAs!"

Furman will compete at the Southeast Regional Championships on November 11 in Charlottesville, Va.

Julie Paré, Furman Sports Information


Furman Men's Individual Results

1 Frank Lara 23:16.44

2 Josh Brickell 23:25.34

4 Ryan Adams 24:08.49

6 Mason Coppi 24:13.53

9 Matt Lange 24:25.88

10 Jake Ogden 24:32.38

14 Quintin McKinnish 24:39.65

24 Patrick McNamara 25:05.06

58 Lee Shearer 26:12.22


Furman Women's Individual Results

2 Savannah Carnahan 16:24.72

3 Emma Grace Hurley 16:55.36

5 Gabrielle Jennings 17:02.42

6 Laura Miller 17:07.87

8 Riley Burr 17:30.18

9 Grace Dwyer 17:37.50

10 Jennifer Stephenson 17:39.27

13 Julia Rodriguez 17:49.02

28 Maddie Wolfe 18:33.12 


Men's Team Scores

1. Furman – 22

2. Samford – 51

3. ETSU – 93

4. Chattanooga – 113

5. VMI – 117

6. Wofford  - 218

7. Western Carolina – 219

8. UNCG – 220

9. The Citadel – 221

10. Mercer - 271


Women's Team Scores

1. Furman – 24

2. Samford – 47

3. ETSU – 111

4. Chattanooga – 113

T-5. UNCG – 171

T-5. Wofford – 171

7. Western Carolina – 176

8. VMI – 195

9. Mercer – 201

10. The Citadel – 266


Men's First Team All-SoCon

1.Frank Lara, Furman

2. Josh Brickell, Furman

3. Arsène Guillorel, Samford

4. Ryan Adams, Furman

5. Brandon Hazouri, Samford

6. Mason Coppi, Furman

7. Simeon Roberts, ETSU


Women's First Team All-SoCon

1. Karisa Nelon, Samford

2. Savannah Carnahan, Furman

3. Emma Grace Hurley, Furman

4. Emma Garner, Samford

5. Gabrielle Jennings, Furman

6. Laura Miller, Furman

7. Katy Link, UNCG


Men's Second Team All-SoCon

8. Ben Bryant, Samford

9. Matt Lange, Furman

10. Jake Ogden, Furman

11. Brennan Huber

12. James Broom, VMI

13. Paul Stuart, Chattanooga

14. Quintin McKinnish, Furman


Women's Second Team All-SoCon

8. Riley Burr, Furman

9. Grace Dwyer, Furman

10. Jennifer Stephenson, Furman

11. Taylor Delaney, UNCG

12. Anna Long, Samford

13. Julia Rodriguez, Furman

14. Mary Grace Strozier, Samford


Men's All-Freshman Team

4. Ryan Adams, Furman

6. Mason Coppi, Furman

10. Jake Ogden, Furman

16. Dillon Dean, Samford

17. Adam Bradtmueller, ETSU

22. Ryan Drew, VMI

24. Patrick McNamara, Furman


Women's All-Freshman Team

2. Savannah Carnahan, Furman

3. Emma Grace Hurley, Furman

5. Gabrielle Jennings, Furman

8. Riley Burr, Furman

9. Grace Dwyer, Furman

10. Jennifer Stephenson, Furman

11. Taylor Delaney, UNCG


Men's Freshman of the Year

Ryan Adams, Furman


Women's Freshman of the Year

Savannah Carnahan, Furman


Men's Runner of the Year

Frank Lara, Furman


Women's Runner of the Year

Karisa Nelson, Samford


Men's Pinnacle Award Recipient

Josh Brickell, Furman


Women's Pinnacle Award Recipient

Julia Rodriguez, Furman


Men's Coach of the Year

Robert Gary, Furman


Women's Coach of the Year

Robert Gary, Furman