Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Furman To Defend SoCon Championships Saturday

Furman To Defend SoCon Championships Saturday

GREENVILLE, S.C. -- The Furman men's and women's cross country teams, winners of five-straight league titles, will defend their championships Saturday at the 2018 Southern Conference Championship Meet on the campus of Western Carolina in Cullowhee, N.C.

The meet will mark the 89th Annual Southern Conference Cross Country Championship for the men and the 34rd for the women.  Admission is free to the public. 

The championships will begin with the men's 8K run at 10 a.m., followed by the women's 5K event at 10:45 a.m. The top men's and women's teams will be honored as the 2018 conference champions, while the top seven individuals in each race will be named first team all-conference. Individual finishers placing 8th through 14th in each race will comprise the all-conference second team, and the top seven freshmen in each race will make up the league's all-freshman team.

The Paladin men's team dominated the 2018 meet, scoring a perfect 15 points for the victory and claiming nine of the top 11 spots in the race.  Aaron Templeton won the individual title and captured 2017 SoCon Runner of the Year accolades, while Daniel Bernal was honored as the league's freshman of the year.  

Along with Templeton and Bernal, the Paladin lineup will include Ryan Adams, Allen Clark, Mason Coppi, Trenton Mandato, Luke Meade, Jake Ogden, and freshman Cameron Ponder

The Paladin women's team placed six runners among the top 9 at last season's meet.  Furman was led to victory by the 2018 SoCon Runner of the Year, Allie Buchalski, who won the individual title for the third time in her career.  Savannah Carnahan, who was honored with the SoCon Pinnacle Award for holding the highest GPA on the championship team, joined Buchalski on the All-SoCon first team after placing third, along with Gabbi Jennings, who turned in a fourth-place finish last season.

The Furman women's lineup for Saturday includes Carnahan, Jennings, Riley Burr, Reilly Caldwell, Krissy Gear, Emma Grace Hurley, Emma Kuntz, Emily Lane, and Jennifer Stephenson

Furman head coach Robert Gary won his fifth-straight SoCon Coach of the Year award for both the men's and women's programs in 2018.

For complete results and photos from the 2018 championship, log onto

Julie Paré, Furman Sports Information