Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Harper Chosen SoCon Player Of The Year; Bruns Joins Harper On All-SoCon Team

Harper Chosen SoCon Player Of The Year; Bruns Joins Harper On All-SoCon Team

PINEHURST, N.C. -- Furman sophomore Keller Harper (+3) was chosen the Southern Conference Men's Golf Player of the Year, while junior Connor Bruns (+9) joined Harper on the All-SoCon team following Tuesday's final round of the SoCon Championships at Pinehurst No. 9 in Pinehurst, N.C.  The Jack Nicklaus Signature course, which served as the site of the championships for the fifth-consecutive year, played at par-72, 7,118 yards.   

Harper, a native of Atlanta, Ga., led the league with a 72.17 stroke average over 30 rounds heading into the league championships.  In Tuesday's finals, he carded a 76 with three birdies on the front nine, finishing the tournament tied for fourth, seven strokes behind Nick Lyerly (-4) of UNC Greensboro, who fired a 69 on Tuesday to win individual medalist honors with a three-round total of 73-70-69=212.

Harper becomes the first Paladin to win men's golf player of the year accolades since current assistant coach Matt Davidson captured the honor in 2002.

"Keller had a great year and an incredible spring season," said Furman head coach Todd Satterfield following the tournament.  "It was really nice to see him rewarded as the Southern Conference Player of the Year.  He is as hard of a worker as he is talented, and it was fun to watch him come in to his own this spring."

A native of Duncan, S.C., Bruns, who was named to the SoCon All-Freshman team in 2016, entered the tournament rated sixth in the league with a 73.17 stroke average over 30 rounds.  He shot a 77 with three birdies in the final round, tying for 13th along with sophomore Matt Lehman (+9), who paced Furman with a 73 in Tuesday's round, notching birdies on No. 8 and No. 10.

Sophomore Scott Purvis (+22) concluded the tournament in a tie for 29th after shooting an 80 in the final round, and senior Hunter Nichols (+24) tied for 31st after adding an 84 on Tuesday.

UNC Greensboro (+18) won the title by five strokes over runner-up Chattanooga (+23), earning the SoCon's automatic bid to the NCAA regionals.  East Tennessee State (+27) finished in third, followed by the Paladins (+37) in fourth.  Mercer (+41) completed the top five.

Julie Paré, Furman Sports Information


4 Furman 301 294 306 901 +37

T4 Keller Harper 73 70 76 219 +3

T13 Connor Bruns 75 73 77 225 +9

T13 Matt Lehman 76 76 73 225 +9

T29 Scott Purvis 77 81 80 238 +22

T31 Hunter Nichols 81 75 84 240 +24


Southern Conference Men's Golf Awards

Player of the Year

Keller Harper, So., Furman


Freshman of the Year

Nick Lyerly, UNCG


Coach of the Year

Terrance Stewart, UNCG


Pinnacle Award (highest GPA on championship-winning team)

Jonathan Brightwell, UNCG


All-Southern Conference

Shiso Go, Fr., ETSU

Guentae Kim, Jr., ETSU

Connor Bruns, Jr., Furman

Keller Harper, So., Furman

Stanton Schorr, Jr., Mercer

Bryce Hendrix, Jr., UNCG

Nick Lyerly, Fr., UNCG

Josh Stockwell, Sr., UNCG

Lake Johnson, Jr., Chattanooga

Luke Long, So., Chattanooga


All-Freshman Team

Shiso Go, ETSU

Jack Rhea, ETSU

Lino Galdin, Mercer

Nick Lyerly, UNCG

Nick Willis, Wofford