Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Lacrosse Falls at No. 17 Ohio State on Sunday

William Holcomb
William Holcomb

Columbus, Ohio – Behind a five-goal second period, No. 17 Ohio State downed Furman, 12-6, on Sunday afternoon inside the Woody Hayes Athletic Center. The win moves the Buckeyes to 1-0 on the season, while the loss drops the Paladins to 0-2 after a tough opening weekend.

William Holcomb led the Paladins with two goals, while Lou Yovino, Stephen Wierzbicki, Gus Pinsoneault, and Jonah Moore each added one. Reilly McDermott and freshman Alex Van de Bovenkamp split time in goal, with Van de Bovenkamp making five saves in his first collegiate action. 

The Paladins took an early 1-0 lead on a goal by William Holcomb with 13:16 remaining in the first period. Ohio State then used a 4-0 scoring run to push the lead to 4-1 until Lou Yovino netted his only goal of the day with 10:14 remaining in the second to cut the lead to 4-2. The Buckeyes continued to respond, scoring three goals over the next five minutes to take a 7-2 lead over the Paladins. Furman used a second goal by Holcomb with 1:32 to go in the second to cut the lead to 7-3 heading into the halftime lockerrooms.

Ohio State outscored the Paladins 3-1 in the third period, as Furman cut the Buckeyes' lead in half at 8-4 on a goal by Jonah Moore and assist from David Williamson. The Paladins again cut the Ohio State lead in half on a goal by Gu Pinsoneault to open the fourth, then after an Ohio State goal, Zach Scott found Stephen Wierzbicki for the Paladins' final score of the day. The Buckeyes tacked on one final score with 5:05 to go in the game to top the Paladins, 12-6.

Johnny Pearson led the Buckeyes with four goals, while Tre Leclaire added two. Austin Shanks and JT Blubaugh each added two points (1 goal, 1 assist), while Tom Carey played almost all 60 minutes in goal (59:32), making 11 saves.

Furman is back in action on Saturday, February 11, welcoming preseason No. 1 North Carolina to Paladin Stadium. Opening faceoff is set for 12:00 p.m.