Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Furman Head Coach Kelly Jones Earns First-Round Win At Pacific Coast Men's Doubles Championship

Kelly Jones
Kelly Jones

LA JOLLA, CALIF. -- Furman men's tennis head coach Kelly Jones returned to his hometown of San Diego to compete along with the Paladins in the 124th Annual Pacific Coast Men's Doubles Championship, which began Friday at the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Center.

Jones, who was the number one ranked doubles player in the world in 1992 after reaching the doubles final at the Australian Open and US Open, teamed with Peter Smith, head coach of University of Southern California men's tennis team, to defeat Kelly Donaldson and Thomas O'Brien of Villanova University, 6-1, 6-3, in their opening match.  The duo fell to Tamas Batyi and Johannes Markel of UNLV in the second round, 6-2, 6-0.  

In other first round action, Paladin rookie Matt Browne and junior Alex Chris defeated individuals Trent Aaron and Alan Chang, 6-2, 6-3, while sophomore Jacob Behal and senior Tyler Droll fell to Richard Del Nunzio and Matt Campbell of Oklahoma State, 6-7(5), 6-3, 10-6.  Clarke Spinosa and Thibaut Visy of San Diego combined for a 6-1, 6-1 victory over junior Joel Cook and senior Andrew Mellow, and individual Leif Berger and Jonathan Chang of Rice bested senior Robbie Aru and junior Nate Collins, 6-3, 6-1.

In consolation matches, Behal and Droll defeated Esteban Altuna and Isaac Altuna of Norco, Calif., 6-0, 6-2.  The duo earned a buy in the second round of consolation and will face Long Tran and Roager K. Tran of San Diego on Saturday.  Max De Broome and Eric Johnson of Southern Cal teamed up to defeat Browne and Chris, 3-6, 7-5, 10-1, in the second round of the main draw.

The tournament, which concludes on Sunday, features a draw with 128 doubles teams and includes 19 intercollegiate teams and independent players such as teaching professionals, junior players, college coaches, and former tour players.  

Collegiate teams playing in the 2013 Pacific Coast Men's Doubles Championship include: Boston College, Claremont McKenna-Mudd-Scripps, Furman, Oklahoma State, Pepperdine, Rice, San Diego State, Stanford, UC Davis, California Berkeley (CAL), University of California, UCLA, California San Diego, Central Florida, Nevada, UNLV, San Diego, Southern Cal, Toledo, and Villanova. 

The Annual Pacific Coast Men's Doubles Championship is one of the five-oldest tennis events in the world and the second oldest tennis event in the United States. First held in 1890 at The Hotel Del Monte in Monterey, California, the event was created to promote the sale of real estate on the Monterey peninsula. 

The original concept pitted the best players from the East versus those from the West. This coast-to-coast rivalry was the inspiration for the Davis Cup. Past winners of the Pacific Coast Men's Doubles Championship include Jack Kramer, Ted Schroeder, Bobby Riggs, Pancho Segura, Don Budge, Tony Trabert, Stan Smith, Bob Lutz, Arthur Ashe, Dennis Ralston, John McEnroe, and many other world-class champions.

Saturday's matches will begin at 9 a.m. PST.