Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cook & Mellow Advance To Consolation Finals At Pacific Coast Men's Doubles Championship

Joel Cook
Joel Cook

LA JOLLA, CALIF. -- Junior Joel Cook and senior Andrew Mellow advanced to the consolations finals to lead the Furman men's tennis team in the second day of competition at the 124th Annual Pacific Coast Men's Doubles Championship Saturday at the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Center.

The Paladin duo posted a 6-3, 6-3 victory over Nick Hoyle and Michael Tang of Southern Cal in the first round of consolation then earned a bye in the second round. Cook and Mellow earned a 6-4, 6-4 win over Parker Chang and Tim Noack of Washington St. Louis in round three then defeated individuals Yousef Benhamida and Zachary Leslie, 6-3, 7-5, to earn a spot in the quarterfinals, where the Paladins bested San Diego's Octavian Popaluca and Jason Wall, 6-3, 6-2.  Following the withdrawal of Skyler Butts and Neel Kotrappa of Claremont McKenna-Mudd Scripps, Furman advanced to Sunday's finals.  

Sophomore Jacob Behal and senior Tyler Droll teamed up for a 6-0, 6-1 win versus Long Tran and Roager K. Tran of San Diego on Saturday in the third round of consolation.  The Paladin team then came from behind for a 3-6, 6-4, 6-2 victory over Andrew Carlisle and Ciaran Fitzgerald of San Diego in the round four.    In the quarterfinals, Butts and Kotrappa of Claremont McKenna-Mudd-Scripps downed Behal and Droll, 2-6, 6-1, 6-3.

Senior Robbie Aru and junior Nate Collins defeated individuals Keegan Smith and Corey Smith, 6-3, 6-3, to open the consolation matches and earned a bye through to the third round.  Individuals KC Corkery and Blake Muller handed Aru and Collins a 6-4, 6-1 loss in round three.

The tournament, which concludes on Sunday, features a draw with 128 doubles teams and includes 19 intercollegiate teams and independent players such as teaching professionals, junior players, college coaches, and former tour players.  

Collegiate teams playing in the 2013 Pacific Coast Men's Doubles Championship include: Boston College, Claremont McKenna-Mudd-Scripps, Furman, Oklahoma State, Pepperdine, Rice, San Diego State, Stanford, UC Davis, California Berkeley (CAL), University of California, UCLA, California San Diego, Central Florida, Nevada, UNLV, San Diego, Southern Cal, Toledo, and Villanova. 

The Annual Pacific Coast Men's Doubles Championship is one of the five-oldest tennis events in the world and the second oldest tennis event in the United States. First held in 1890 at The Hotel Del Monte in Monterey, California, the event was created to promote the sale of real estate on the Monterey peninsula. 

The original concept pitted the best players from the East versus those from the West. This coast-to-coast rivalry was the inspiration for the Davis Cup. Past winners of the Pacific Coast Men's Doubles Championship include Jack Kramer, Ted Schroeder, Bobby Riggs, Pancho Segura, Don Budge, Tony Trabert, Stan Smith, Bob Lutz, Arthur Ashe, Dennis Ralston, John McEnroe, and many other world-class champions.

Sunday's matches will begin at 9 a.m. PST.