Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Furman's Kelly Jones To Be Inducted Into ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall Of Fame

Kelly Jones
Kelly Jones

GREENVILLE, S.C. -- Furman head men's tennis coach Kelly Jones is among the Intercollegiate Tennis Association's (ITA) 2013 class of inductees for its Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame.  

The class consists of seven inductees: Coaches - Bobby Bayliss (Notre Dame), Dennis Emery (Kentucky), and John Peterson (Tyler Junior College); Players - Paul Goldstein (Stanford), Kelly Jones (Pepperdine), and Harold Solomon (Rice); and Contributor - Alan Schwartz (Yale). 

Jones competed on the Pepperdine tennis team from 1983-86, where he was honored as a three-time ITA All-American in doubles and an ITA All-American in singles.  He claimed two NCAA Doubles Championships in 1984 and 1985 and helped guide the Waves to an NCAA finals appearance in 1986.  Jones went on to have an outstanding professional career, reaching the mixed doubles final of Wimbledon in 1988 and the men's doubles final of both the Australian and US Open in 1992.  He reached the No. 1 spot in the ATP Doubles Rankings. 

The 2013 honorees will be inducted at the 2013 ITA Men's Collegiate Hall of Fame Enshrinement Banquet, which will be held on May 22 during the NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Championships at the University of Illinois in Champaign, Ill.

The ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame, housed at the University of Georgia's Dan Magill Tennis Complex, was inaugurated in 1983 and has inducted more than 200 players, coaches and contributors. The ITA Hall of Fame museum displays over 2,000 rare photos and memorabilia.  Its members include the late Arthur Ashe (UCLA), Jimmy Connors (UCLA), John McEnroe (Stanford) and Coach Dick Gould (Stanford). The ITA Women's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame is located at the College of William & Mary in Williamsburg, Va. For a complete list of the Hall of Fame Inductees, please visit