Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Furman's Mellow Named To All-SoCon First Team; Browne Selected To All-Freshman Team

Andrew Mellow
Andrew Mellow

GREENVILLE, S.C. – Furman senior Andrew Mellow was named to the All-Southern Conference men's tennis first team for the second consecutive season, while Paladin rookie Matt Browne was selected to the SoCon's All-Freshman Team, as announced by the league office today.  Postseason balloting was conducted by the league's head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

Mellow, a native of St. Louis, Mo., posted a 9-12 overall singles record and 7-3 league mark, playing in the number one spot for the Paladins.  In doubles, he teamed with junior Joel Cook in the top flight for the majority of the season and combined with sophomore Luke Synn for a few matches mid-season at number three, notching a 5-5 league record.  

Browne, who hails from Wesley Chapel, Fla., tallied a 12-9 overall singles mark and an 7-3 SoCon record, playing primarily in the third seed.  He recorded a 6-1 record at flight three and a 3-4 record at both flight four and flight five.  Brown teamed with junior Alex Christ in conference doubles matches, where he notched a 5-5 mark.

Elon will serve as host of the 2013 Southern Conference Men's and Women's Tennis Championships this week (April 18-21).  The four-day event features all 22 men's and women's teams from the Southern Conference.

Saturday's semifinals and Sunday's championship matches will take place at the Jimmy Powell Tennis Center on the campus of Elon University.  Thursday's opening round and Friday's quarterfinals will be split between the Jimmy Powell Tennis Center and Burlington Tennis Center. 

Elon's men won the outright regular-season championship with a mark of 8-2 in conference play.  The top seed in the men's draw, the Phoenix earned a bye to Friday's quarterfinals.  College of Charleston, UNCG and Samford all tied for second place with identical 7-3 records.  Samford earned the No. 2 seed based on the league's tiebreaker procedures, while the Cougars are the No. 3 seed and UNCG is slotted fourth.  The Spartans will face No. 5 Chattanooga in one of Friday's quarterfinals.

Thursday's first-round matchups include No. 8 Furman taking on the ninth-seeded Appalachian State Mountaineers at 9:00 a.m.  The seventh-seeded Davidson Wildcats will take on No. 10 Wofford at 1:00 p.m., while No. 6 Georgia Southern squares off against No. 11 seed The Citadel.

The men's championship match is set for Sunday at 2:00 p.m. 


2013 SoCon Men's Tennis Postseason Awards

First Team


Cameron Silverman, Elon

Andrew Mellow, Furman

Andrew Dromsky, Georgia Southern

Ahmet Sarioglu, UNCG

Zac Dunkle, Samford

Manuel Barroetavena, Chattanooga


Zach Bost/Sebastien King, APP

Cameron Silverman/Stefan Fortmann, Elon

James Dougherty/Randy Phillips, UNCG


Second Team

Singles (by position)

No. 1 – Rob Galloway, Wofford

No. 2 – Rayane Djouad, Georgia Southern

No. 3 – Fares Kilani, Samford

No. 4 – Randy Phillips, UNCG

No. 5 – Austin Akers, Samford

No. 6 – Zack Lewis, College of Charleston

Doubles (by position)

No. 1 – Chris Mark/Kevin Moore, Davidson

            Ankit Chopra/Roberto Vieira, Chattanooga

No. 2 – Daniel Mack/Ahmet Sarioglu, UNCG

No. 3 – Jordan Kaufman, Juan Madrid, Elon



Zack Lewis, College of Charleston

Robert Lindgren, Elon

Matt Browne, Furman

Rayane Djouad, Georgia Southern

James Dougherty, UNCG

Fares Kilani, Samford


Player of the Year

Cameron Silverman, Elon


Freshman of the Year

Rayane Djouad, Georgia Southern


Don Bunch/Buddy Hartsell Sportsmanship Award

Joe Schafer, Davidson


Coach of the Year

Michael Leonard, Elon