Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Seven Paladins Named to SoCon All-Conference Squads

Seven Paladins Named to SoCon All-Conference Squads


Greenville, S.C. – Seven different Paladins have been named to three SoCon All-Conference teams, it was announced today by the league office. The selections are made in voting by Southern Conference women's lacrosse head coaches. 

In the second year of SoCon women's lacrosse, Furman earned five first-team, one second-team and one All-Freshman selection. Mercer earned three of the four major awards, while Central Michigan tallied a league-high eight All-Conference players. The first and second teams are made up of 10 position-specific players and the next two top vote getters regardless of position, while the all-freshman team consists of the six highest vote-getters regardless of position.

Attackers Abby Shields and Grace Pollak, along with midfielder Sophie Brennan, defender Morgan Franklin and goalie Courtney Baker were all named to the league's first team. Shields, Brennan and Franklin each picked up their second All-SoCon honor of their careers.

Shields became Furman's all-time leading goal scorer earlier this season and continues to add to her career total points record, turning in a total of 63 this season (36 goals, 27 assists). Pollak leads the Paladins with 45 goals on the year, while Brennan has 22 goals and 20 assists to go with her team-leading 52 draws.

Franklin added her second first team selection of her career, after being Furman's lone representative on the first team in 2018. The Alpharetta, Ga., native has started all 17 games this season, causing 15 turnovers, picking up 34 ground balls and winning 15 draws. In her first season as the starting goalie, Courtney Baker leads the SoCon in save percentage (.441) and goals against average (10.45). In conference play, Baker leads in goals against average (7.79) and save percentage (.519).

Sophomore Avery Whitehead was the lone Paladin selected to the All-Conference second team, the second such honor of her career. The Memphis, Tenn. native has won 10 draws on the year and picked up 31 ground balls, as well as causing 14 turnovers.

Freshman Lauren Farber was named to the Southern Conference All-Freshman team. Farber has appeared in all 17 games this season, scoring nine goals and adding five assists, while winning 19 draws and picking up 13 groundballs.

Furman returns to action on Thursday, taking on Detroit Mercy as the No. 3 seed in the Southern Conference Women's Lacrosse Championship. The Paladins and Titans are set to open tournament play 45 minutes following the first game, which begins at 5:00 p.m., inside Paladin Stadium.


First Team All-Conference: 

A – Lexie Kinmond, UDM
A – Abby Shields, FUR
A – Grace Pollak, FUR
A – Hailey Rhatigan, MER 
M – Kaitlyn Wandelt, UDM
M – Jocelyne Lemay, CMU
M – Sophie Brennan, FUR 
D – Audrey Robertson, MER
D – Logan Halvorson, CMU
D – Morgan Franklin, FUR
D – Tegan McManus, UDM 
GK – Courtney Baker, FUR 


Second Team All-Conference: 
A – Jessica Schuchardt, CMU
A – Natalie Karlen, CMU
A – Kelly Hagerty, MER
M – Catie Snee, MER
M – Shannon Doyle, CMU
M – Ally Furnari, WOF
D – Avery Whitehead, FUR
D – Brianna Hart, CMU
D – Alexandra Foulke, WOF
D – Michaela Lucas, MER 
GK – Dominique Hamman, CMU
GK – Kelsey Thompson, WOF  


Offensive Player of the Year – Jocelyn Lemay, CMU

Defensive Player of the Year – Audrey Robertson, MER

Coach of the Year – Samantha Eustace, MER

Freshman of the Year – Hailey Rhatigan, MER 



Hailey Rhatigan, MER
Elise Harder, UDM
Lauren Faber, FUR
Ally Furnari, WOF
Courtney Burke, CMU
Hannah Lind, MER