Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Paladin Men's DMR Takes First Place In Final Day Of Niswonger Invitational

Paladin Men's DMR Takes First Place In Final Day Of Niswonger Invitational

JOHNSON CITY, TENN. -- The Paladin men's distance medley relay team of James Perez, Raul Rodriquez, William Ivey, and Tripp Hurt took first place with a time of 10:28.17 to lead the Furman indoor track and field teams in the final day of the Niswonger Invitational at Memorial Center in Johnson City, Tenn.

Furman had eight individuals turn in top-10 finishes, including senior Lee Gilmer, who placed second in the mile invitational with a time of 4:12.88, and freshman Tripp Hurt, who finished second in the open mile competition after posting a time of 4:21.57.  Junior Wilkerson Given took eighth place in the mile invitational with a time of 4:191.74.

For the Paladin women's team, sophomore Catherine Burton finished fourth in the mile invitational with a time of 5:20.06.  In the 3,000m, Furman runners finished back-to-back to back, with freshman Sinead Haughey finishing fourth with a time of 10:05.82, senior Brooke Mosteller placing fifth with a personal-best time of 10:06.62, and senior Erin Barker coming in sixth after recording a time of 10:10.23.

Furman will compete at the Clemson Tiger Paw February 10-11.

Complete Furman results from Saturday are as follows:

Niswonger Invitational

Day 2 - Complete Furman Results


800m Open

19th Mitchell Lloyd 2:08.23

22nd Jackson Sinor 2:13.47


Mile Invitational

2nd Lee Gilmer 4:12.88

8th Wilkerson Given 4:19.74

11th James Perez 4:25.64


Mile Open

2nd Tripp Hurt 4:21.57

32nd Devin Tupper 4:46.96



11th Jack Klecker 8:54.61



14th Chris Caldwell 15:33.72

33rd Jay Miller 16:09.94

35th Tyler Greathouse 16:11.35



1st Perez, Rodriquez, 10:28.17

Ivey, Hurt


Shot Put

21st Scott DesMarais 13.07 (42-10.75)



800m Open

19th Hannah Schilpp 2:32.52

21st Erin McChristian 2:33.43 PR


Mile Invitational

4th Catherine Burton 5:20.06


Mile Open 

10th McKenzie Woolley 5:29.94

17th Blair Burke 5:34.20



4th Sinead Haughey 10:05.82

5th Brooke Mosteller 10:06.62

6th Erin Barker 10:10.23



13th Hannah Robinson 18:57.73

24th Julia Means 19:30.00

52nd Allison Davey 22:14.83



10th Burke, Wilton, 13:16.80

Schilpp, Gray


Long Jump

23rd Danielle Ebzery 4.79 (15-08.75)