Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Furman Sweeps Team Titles At SoCon Cross Country Championships

Sinead Haughey
Sinead Haughey

Birmingham, Ala. -- The Furman men's and women's cross country teams swept the team titles at the 2013 Southern Conference Cross Country Championships at Veterans Park in Birmingham, Ala., on Saturday. 

In the opening race of the day, the Furman men scored 48 points for the victory, beating out Appalachian State by 15 points.  Chattanooga placed third, followed by UNCG and Davidson, who completed the top five.  The win marked the Paladins' first SoCon men's cross country championship since 1976.

Junior Tripp Hurt led the Paladins in the 8K race, placing fourth with a time of 25:01.56, to earn a spot on the All-SoCon first team for the second-consecutive season.  Freshman Troy Reeder, who was honored as the 2013 SoCon Men's Cross Country Freshman of the Year, joined Hurt on the All-SoCon first team after finishing seventh with a time of 25:16.45.

Rookies Tanner Hinkle and Brock Baker earned All-SoCon second team accolades after Hinkle recorded a ninth-place finish (25:30.26) and Baker posted a 12th-place finish (25:37.58).  Junior Jack Klecker rounded out the Paladin scorers, finishing 16th with a time of 25:42.01.  Freshman Nate Riech completed the course in 25:54.82 for 23rd place, while rookie Connor Sorrells clinched 34th place at 26:38.03.  Senior Tyler Greathouse finished 38th with a time of 26:40.32.

The Paladins claimed five out of the seven spots on the All-SoCon Freshman Team, as Reeder, Hinkle, and Baker were joined on the team by Riech and Sorrells.  

Furman edged out Elon by just two points in the women's 5K race, also scoring 48 points for the win, the Paladins' first since Furman last claimed the title in 2000.  UNCG, Appalachian State, and Chattanooga rounded out the top five women's teams. 

Freshman Allie Buchalski paced the Paladin women, posting a time of 17:32.43 to finish second overall and earn the 2013 SoCon Women's Cross Country Freshman of the Year Award.  Buchalski was joined on the All-SoCon first team by rookie Grace Tinkey, who placed third with a time of 17:33.76.  Junior Sinead Haughey, who finished eighth with a time of 18:09.44, claimed a spot on the all-conference second team for the second time in her career.

Rookie Julia Rodriguez captured 16th place after recording a time of 18:40.25, while fellow freshman Laura Miller completed the Paladin scoring slate with a 19th-place finish (18:43.34).  Freshman Ann Sisson finished the race in 19:06.60, taking 33rd place.  Senior Kacie Schoen placed 37th (19:11.07), followed closely by senior Catherine Burton in 39th place with a time of 19:12.50.

Furman placed four runners on the All-SoCon Freshman Team, as Buchalski, Tinkey, Rodriguez, and Miller placed among the league's top seven rookies at the meet.

"I couldn't be more proud of the entire program," said Furman head coach Robert Gary, who was honored as the 2013 SoCon Coach of the Year for both the men's and women's programs.  "I especially liked the fact that our women won by two points today, which proves that every single run specifically counts!  We were nervous and excited about how young and how talented this group was when we started this fall.  Coach Neal and Coach Rita have done a great job with such a young group.  We are very excited about the NCAA Regionals, as well as the future of this program."

Furman will compete at the Southeast Regional Championships November 15 in Charlottesville, Va.


Furman Men's Individual Results

4 Tripp Hurt 25:01.56

7 Troy Reeder 25:16.45

9 Tanner Hinkle 25:30.26

12 Brock Baker 25:37.58

16 Jack Klecker 25:42.01

23 Nate Riech 25:54.82

34 Connor Sorrells 26:28.03

38 Tyler Greathouse 26:40.32 


Furman Women's Individual Results

2 Allie Buchalski 17:32.43

3 Grace Tinkey 17:33.76

8 Sinead Haughey 18:09.44

16 Julia Rodriguez 18:40.25

19 Laura Miller 18:43.34

33 Ann Sisson 19:06.60

37 Kacie Schoen 19:11.07

39 Catherine Burton 19:12.50


Team Scores – Men

1. Furman                                 48

2. Appalachian State                 63

3. Chattanooga                         73

4. UNCG                                   74

5. Davidson                              124

6. Samford                               148

7. Elon                                      167

8. Western Carolina                   221

9. The Citadel                            269

10. Wofford                              282


Team Scores – Women

1. Furman                                 48

2. Elon                                      50

3. UNCG                                   62

4. Appalachian State                 99

5. Chattanooga                         136

6. Davidson                              177

7. Samford                               195

8. Wofford                                238

9. Western Carolina                   240

10. The Citadel                          276

11. Georgia Southern                 305


All-SoCon First Team – Men

1. Paul Chelimo – UNCG

2. Paul Katam – UNCG

3. Luis Vargas – Elon

4. Tripp Hurt – Furman

5. Lucas Cotter – Chattanooga

6. Kyle McFoy – Appalachian State

7. Troy Reeder – Furman


All-SoCon First Team – Women

1. Teghan Henderson – Chattanooga

2. Allie Buchalski – Furman

3. Grace Tinkey – Furman

4. Shaina Sumney – UNCG

5. Allyson Oram – Elon

6. Lydia Sana – UNCG

7. Chlesea Sumney – UNCG


All-SoCon Second Team – Men

8. Dylan Belles – UNCG

9. Tanner Hinkle – Furman

10. Josh Cox – Appalachian State

11. Mark Cole – Chattanooga

12. Brock Baker – Furman

13. James Howard-Smith – Appalachian State

14. Will Raby – Appalachian State


All-SoCon Second Team – Women

8. Sinead Haughey – Furman

9. Elyse Bierut – Elon

10. Justine Stocks – Appalachian State

11. Tereza Novotna – Elon

12. Haylee Dawe – Elon

13. Kimberly Johansen – Elon

14. Erin Osment – Davidson


All-SoCon Freshman Team – Men

7. Troy Reeder, Furman

9. Tanner Hinkle – Furman

12. Brock Baker – Furman

20. Michael Ellis – Appalachian State

23. Nate Riech – Furman

34. Connor Sorrells – Furman

39. Clay Howarth – Western Carolina


All-SoCon Freshman Team – Women

2. Allie Buchalski – Furman

3. Grace Tinkey – Furman

13. Kimberly Johansen – Elon

16. Julia Rodriguez – Furman

19. Laura Miller – Furman

24. Eira Jensen – UNCG

29. Jenny Fritz – Davidson


Coach of the Year – Men

Robert Gary – Furman


Coach of the Year – Women

Robert Gary – Furman


Runner of the Year – Men

Paul Chelimo – UNCG


Runner of the Year – Women

Teghan Henderson – Chattanooga


Freshman of the Year – Men

Troy Reeder – Furman


Freshman of the Year – Women

Allie Buchalski – Furman