Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Paladins Win Three SoCon Titles In First Day Of League Championships

Sinead Haughey
Sinead Haughey

BIRMINGHAM, ALA. -- Senior Sinead Haughey won the 3,000m, setting a new Furman record and SoCon meet record with a time of 9:27.51, to lead the Furman indoor track and field teams in the first day of competition at the Southern Conference Championship Meet, being held Friday and Saturday at the Birmingham CrossPlex facility in Birmingham, Ala.  Haughey broke the old Paladin record of 9:32.47, set by teammate Allie Buchalski earlier this month, and the meet record of 9:34.10, set by Shannah Wommack of Chattanooga in 2006. 

After the first day of competition, Samford leads the men's event with 71 points, while Furman is in third place with 33 points.  Western Carolina leads the women's competition with 87 points, and the Paladins are in third place with 29 points.

Furman placed six runners among the top eleven in the women's 3,000m, as Buchalski turned in a time of 9:45.21 for second place, and rookie Emma Mashburn placed fourth at 10:06.62 to earn a spot on the SoCon All-Freshman Team.   Bryce Seymour finished eighth at 10:37.73 to join Mashburn on the All-Freshman Team, and sophomore Anna McBride claimed tenth with a time of 10:45.76.  Freshman Caroline Reed completed the Paladin slate, taking 11th place with a time of 10:46.76.

Freshman Jacquelyn Crow advanced to Saturday's finals in both the 800m and the mile, after turning in the top qualifying time in both events.  Crow set a new Furman record in the 800m, recording a time of 2:13.10, and posted a time of 5:05.71 in the mile.  Four Paladin sophomores advanced in the mile, as Laura Miller placed fourth at 5:06.42, and Buchalski was fifth with a time of 5:09.05.  Ann Sisson was sixth with a time of 5:09.37, while Maddie Wolfe took tenth at 5:11.55 to reach Saturday's finals.

Senior Tripp Hurt led the men's team, winning the 3,000m after crossing the line in 8:29.81.  The Paladin men placed five runners among the top 10 in the event, as sophomore Brock Baker was third at 8:30.55, and sophomore Tanner Hinkle placed fifth with a time of 8:33.18.  Sophomore Lee Shearer turned in a time of 8:38.78 for sixth place, while sophomore Matt Lange finished ninth at 8:42.96.

The Furman men's distance medley relay team of sophomore Nate Riech, senior William Ivey, senior James Perez, and sophomore Troy Reeder won the SoCon title, turning in a time of 10:06.16.

Six Paladin men's runners advanced to Sunday's finals in their respective events.  Ivey ranked second overall after recording a time of 1:54.36 to secure a spot in Sunday's 800m finals, while Riech placed fourth in qualifying with a time of 1:55.11 in the event to advance to the finals.  

In the mile competition, five Furman athletes advanced, with Perez placing second with a time of 4:17.70 and Ivey taking fourth at 4:17.75.  Rookie Austin Sprague finished seventh (4:26.16), Baker was eighth (4:26.20), and Reeder was ninth (4:26.26) to clinch a spot in the finals.

The final day of competition will begin Saturday morning at 9:15 a.m. with the men's heptathlon. 

Julie Paré, Furman Sports Information


SoCon Indoor Track and Field Championships - Day 1 Complete Furman Results

Men's Results


12th Carson Priest 7.49



17th Carson Priest 23.85

21st Jeremiah Ockunzzi 26.91



21st Jeremiah Ockunzzi 59.28



2nd William Ivey 1:54.36Q

4th Nate Riech 1:55.11Q

12th Hayden Cox 2:00.23

17th Ian Richardson 2:02.20



2nd James Perez 4:17.70Q

4th William Ivey 4:17.75Q

7th Austin Sprague 4:26.16Q

8th Brock Baker 4:26.20Q

9th Troy Reeder 4:26.26Q



1st Tripp Hurt 8:29.81

3rd Brock Baker 8:30.55

5th Tanner Hinkle 8:33.18

6th Lee Shearer 8:38.78

9th Matt Lange 8:42.96

12th Jack Morgan 8:52.92



1st Riech, Ivey, 10:06.16

Perez, Reeder


Women's Results


17th Chrissy Reinemund 27.17

21st Shauna Owen 28.53



17th Shauna Owen 1:02.74



1st Jacquelyn Crow 2:13.10Q

15th Abi Short 2:22.46

16th Hannah Schilpp 2:24.38

19th Phoebe Ferguson 2:25.95

21st Elly Gay 2:27.41



1st Jacquelyn Crow 5:05.71Q

4th Laura Miller 5:06.42Q

5th Allie Buchalski 5:09.05Q

6th Ann Sisson 5:09.37Q

10th Maddie Wolfe 5:11.55Q

13th Becca Cooley 5:11.82



1st Sinead Haughey 9:27.51

2nd Allie Buchalski 9:45.21

4th Emma Mashburn 10:06.62

8th Bryce Seymour 10:37.73

10th Anna McBride 10:45.76

11th Caroline Reed 10:46.76



4th Cooley, Reinemund, 12:20.35

Wolfe, Sisson