Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Jeremy Blocker Named 2006 Furman Football MVP

Jeremy Blocker Named 2006 Furman Football MVP

Jan. 26, 2007

GREENVILLE, S.C. -- Senior All-Southern Conference free safety Jeremy Blocker was presented the 2006 Vince Perone (MVP) at Furman's annual football awards banquet Friday night on campus.

Blocker, from Hodges, S.C., and former Greenwood High School standout, racked up 66 tackles and a team leading four interceptions and seven pass deflections in helping Furman to an 8-4 record, first round playoff appearance, and No. 12 ranking in the Sports Network NCAA I-AA final poll.

The complete list of 2006 season award winners:

Best Receiver (Justin Stepp)

Best Offensive Back (Cedrick Gipson)

Best Offensive Lineman (John Kivett)

Best Defensive Back (Jeremy Blocker)

Best Defensive Lineman (Wesley Bray)

Best Linebacker (Andrew Jones)

Special Teams MVP (Rico Scott)

Hustle Award (Gary Nelson)

Captains' Awards (John Kivett, Wesley Bray, Justin Stepp, Brad Bell, Jeremy Blocker, Roy Ravenell)

Christian Athlete Award (Scott Shuford)

Vince Perone (MVP) Award (Jeremy Blocker)

Freshman Award (Justin Brown)

Purple Heart Award (Brad Bell)

Academic Award (Adi Filipovic)

Robert B. King Award (Wesley Bray)

Purple Pounder Award/Scout Team Player-of-the-Year (Michael Brown)