Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Furman's Adi Filipovic Named NACDA Scholar-Athlete Of The Year

Furman's Adi Filipovic Named NACDA Scholar-Athlete Of The Year

April 24, 2007

CLEVELAND, OHIO -- Furman offensive lineman Adi Filipovic (Fila-POE-vick) and Columbia defensive end Darren Schmidt have been chosen as recipients of the annual Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award, the organization announced today.

Filipovic and Schmidt, selected from a group of eight finalists, will receive a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship. They will receive their awards during the FCS ADA luncheon on Thursday, June 7 at the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

"The FCS Athletics Directors Association is proud to present these scholarships to these two outstanding student-athletes," said Don Kaverman, chair of the FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team Selection Committee and athletics director at Southeast Missouri State University. "They represent the outstanding student-athletes found in Football Championship Subdivision football."

There were a total of 54 Football Championship Subdivision players selected to the FCS Academic All-Star Team in December. Eight of those players were finalists for the scholarships that Filipovic and Schmidt were selected from. Nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. They must have reached their second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. They must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at their designated position.

Filipovic graduated summa cum laude from Furman in June 2006 with a 3.92 grade point average. He was the recipient of the 2005 Furman Arthur Magill Economics Award and was a four-time SoCon Academic Honor Roll honoree. A 2006 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-Amercia selection, the Bosnian native and product of Lakeside High School in Martinez, Ga., was recently named a Southern Conference TIAA-CREF Graduate Scholar, a $5,000 award which is given annually to a league student-athlete interested in pursuing a graduate degree.

A finalist for the Draddy Award, emblematic of the nation's top football student-athlete, he was also named 2006 Furman Student-Athlete of the Year. In 2005, he published an original work titled "Impact of Privatization on Economic Growth" in Issues of Political Economy.

A four-year lettermen, Filipovic helped lead the Paladins to a combined 35-15 record and three NCAA Championship Subdivision appearances and the 2004 conference title.

Filipovic is the second Furman player to capture a NACDA postgraduate scholarship, joining defensive end Chris Roper (1990).

A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Greg Burke, Northwestern State; Peter Fields, Montana State; Don Kaverman, chair, Southeast Missouri State; Marilyn McNeil, Monmouth; Jim Murphy, Davidson; and Tim Van Alstine, Western Illinois.

Now in its 14th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. The Association is administered by NACDA, now in its 42nd year. NACDA is the professional and educational association for more than 6,100 college athletics administrators at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. More than 2,000 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention.